Var. "New Wave Of Rock N Roll" Clear Vinyl - (Limited To 300 Copies)

Regular price £16.99
Stock Status: In stock

Earache Presents: New Wave Of Rock N Roll

Track Listing:

Side A:

1. Hannah Wicklund & The Steppin Stones "Bomb Through The Breeze"

2. Tomorrow Is Lost "We Are The Lost"

3. Loz Campbell "Back Biting The Bullet"

4. Elles Bailey "Medicine Man"

5. Verity White "Inside Your Love

6. Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts "Black Diamonds"

7. Jack J Hutchinson "Justified"

8. The Dust Coda "Rock N Roll"

Side B:

9. Piston "One More Day"

10. Dead Man's Whiskey "Last Train"

11. Revival Black "Wide Awake"

12. Gorilla Riot "Bad Son"

13. Samarkind "Black Rain"

14. Skam "Take It Or Leave It"

15. Maker "Dead Ends & Avenues"

It’s a time for new generation of rock. Here we have a selection of 15 of the finest new up-and-coming bluesy rock bands as selected by Earache Records.

The number of female-fronted acts is noteworthy. Album opener Hannah Wicklund is the only American artist included, plus in Loz Campbell, Verity White, Tomorrow is Lost’s Cass King and Elles Bailey we have on this album a celebration of modernity and diversity that perhaps suggests rock n roll has grown up and better reflects modern society.. The Gallagher-style beered up lads rock n roll now seemingly well past its sell-by date. It’s not about ape-ing Kasabian and certainly not about copying Led Zeppelin, its roots are deeper than that, though admittedly drawing from the same source material ie, early blues guitar legends, with soul and funk sprinkled into the mix.

With The Dust Coda, Dead Man’s Whiskey and Jack J Hutchinson we have representation from a rising generation of bands that have crafted their reputations as festival and touring acts. A telling feature of so much of today’s new music is that studio recordings carry that live feel. It denotes a truth and an authenticity that characterises the rising new wave of modern blues-influenced rock.

Matt Mitchell and Piston are bands that have been on long journeys. Matt’s critically acclaimed foray with Colour of Noise was followed up in 2019 with a debut solo album and Piston’s debut release was a few years in the making. In both cases, these were stories about patient evolution and underline the fact that these artists are committed to their art. The grassroots existance outside the mainstream has given so many acts a rugged determination to make their music – and their way - no matter the odds or the obstacles.

Revival Black, Ireland’s Samarkind, Skam and Gorilla Riot represent well the meeting place of new and old that underpins much of the new scene today. These bands draw on unmistakable influences from rock’s rich heritage, but their application is modern, visceral with songs that speak for today.

Kent rockers Maker bring elements of soul into the bluesy mix and complete this Earache album. As a collection, there’s something for everyone; the diversity of tone, style and influence with today’s rising rock n’ roll scene is where the real magic is.

Once you dip your toe into the new wave of rock n roll there’s no turning back. With every step you take, you’ll uncover another gem. There are hundreds of young British rock bands out there writing great original music and keeping grassroots venues alive. These are today’s real rock heroes and we hope you enjoy this Earache album and, from it, decide to start a journey and discover the hundreds of rock bands that live beyond this album.

It’s time for the new, modern era of British rock. Make 2020 the year when you help put British rock n roll back where it deserves to be – front and centre, and right back at the heart of the music mainstream. Music is still one of this country’s greatest exports to the world, and its future will depend on us valuing the art of song-writing and investing in the bands that will play tomorrow’s arenas.

Enjoy this album and be part of the change for 2020!