Saxon "Destiny" 24 Page Mediabook CD

Regular price £12.99
Stock Status: In stock

Release Date: July 27, 2018

Saxon, over the decades have gone from being pioneers of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal, to becoming one of the most successful UK rock acts of all time. The truth, though, is that Saxon have always transcended trends and eras. From 1979's 'Saxon' album to new album ‘Thunderbolt’, the band have enjoyed considerable success. Five Top 40 albums in the UK, with four Top 20 singles. And they were similarly successful in other parts of the world as well. It's no wonder their influence spread across the globe, and played a crucial role in the way we look at hard rock and heavy metal today.

Saxon’s ninth studio album, ‘Destiny’ was originally released on 20th June 1988 and was produced by Stephan Galfas at Hook And Manor studio in Berkshire, England. It is the only album to feature the rhythm section of Nigel Duram (drums) and Paul Johnson (bass) alongside long serving members Biff Byford (vocals), Graham Oliver (guitar) and Paul Quinn (guitar). Being a fan of Christopher Cross’ song writing, Biff came up with the idea of covering his track ‘Ride Like The Wind’ as the albums lead single, after giving it a ‘Wheels Of Steel’ style makeover. This version includes a 12” mix of ‘I Can’t Wait Anymore’ plus live B-Sides and some alternative monitor mixes.

Track Listing:

  1. Ride Like The Wind
  2. Where The Lightning Strikes
  3. I Can’t Wait Anymore
  4. S.O.S.
  5. Song For Emma
  6. For Whom The Bell Tolls
  7. We Are Strong
  8. Jericho Siren
  9. Red Alert

CDBonus Tracks

  1. I Can’t Wait Anymore (12” mix)
  2. Rock The Nations (Live B side)
  3. Broken Heroes (Live B side)
  4. Gonna Shout (Live B side)
  5. Ride Like The Wind (Monitor Mix)
  6. For Whom The Bell Tolls (Monitor Mix)