Celtic Frost "Innocence And Wrath (The Best Of)" 2CD

Regular price £9.99
Stock Status: In stock

Release Date: April 26, 2019

Heroes of the extreme metal scene, there has always been so much more to Celtic Frost’s music. From ‘Morbid Tales’, through ‘To Mega Therion’, onwards to ‘Into The Pandemonium’ and finally ‘Vanity/Nemesis’, this is a band who refused to conform or follow any specific musical direction. They experimented, took risks and in the process have left behind a remarkable catalogue which is timeless and extraordinary. When you hear these albums, you’ll appreciate why succeeding generations of diehard fans and cutting edge bands are so heavily inspired and influenced by Celtic Frost. Timeless music, timely albums. This best of release includes new sleevenotes, an extensive booklet, packaged in a casebound book and the art direction of the release was done by the man behind Celtic Frost, Tom G. Warrior.

It almost seems churlish to regard Celtic Frost as one of the great extreme metal bands, because they were so much more than that. It’s better to hail them as among the finest extreme and experimental bands of the 1980s. Refusing ever to do what was expected or demanded, the band constantly changed musical direction, always brought in surprising influences, and kept people guessing as to where they might venture next. Their catalogue of albums is formidable and unmatched. Each is not only unique, but part of an entire tapestry that only now can be appreciated for being a remarkable part of music history. Despite, or maybe because of, constant turmoil on so many fronts, Celtic Frost achieved an artistic level few others would even have dared to dream of aspiring towards. They climbed high because they were never afraid to fall. Which is why the band are now rightly regarded as icons, and iconoclasts.

Track Listing:

1. Human (Intro)

2. Into the Crypts of Rays

3. Morbid Tales

4. Procreation (Of the Wicked)

5. Return to the Eve

6. Nocturnal Fear

7. Innocence and Wrath

8. The Usurper

9. Dawn of Meggido

10. Circle of the Tyrants

11. Fainted Eyes

12. Necromantical Screams

13. Jewel Throne

14. Eternal Summer

15. Suicidal Winds (Emperor's Return EP)

16. Visual Aggression (Emperor's Return EP)

17. Mexican Radio

18. Inner Sanctum

19. Tristesses de la Lune

20. I Won't Dance (The Elders' Orient)

21. In the Chapel In the Moonlight

22. The Inevitable Factor (Alternate Vox)

23. The Heart Beneath

24. Wine in My Hand (Third from the Sun)

25. Wings of Solitude

26. Nemesis

27. Journey Into Fear (Emperor's Return EP Recording Sessions)